Reeks of Failure

via Daily Prompt: Scent

How exactly is success measured? In money, happiness, accomplishments? I’m not exactly sure. Just like the next girl, I have ambitions and dreams but will I actually be a success?

I should state that I don’t consider myself a feminist.However, I don’t not consider myself a feminist either. I have just been incredibly fortunate enough to not have to consider myself one either. I have never felt anything less than equal to males and for that I am incredibly grateful. As a current university student I feel I can do just about anything I want to do… but I have no clue what that is. Since being a child I have wanted to be a wife and a mother so why do I now feel guilty about those aspirations? I feel less and less career driven the older I get. No, I do not want to be reliant on a husband or my family but yes I want children and a husband more than I want a career.

Understandably, I seem ignorant to the modern day issues that surround us and maybe I am. I can’t imagine being subjected to sexism and the thought of it makes me angry but surely the reverse is just as bad? If feminism is all about equality then why do I feel a little bit ashamed of having what are seen as traditional aims. I am not saying I won’t have a career or make money because I will but part of me feels like i’m failing all those women before me if I don’t become a success and that is scary.

As it is, I do want to work and have a career and be successful. But if I say I want to write people tell me to be a bit more realistic. If I say I want to have a family people tell me to aim higher. Give a girl a break! I can’t seem to strike the right balance between aiming high and settling does that make me destined to fail, I don’t know but I do know I can try.

Carrie Bradshaw meets Cinderella, and i’m coming for both their crowns.

 

chanel

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

